Daily Successes

Cheap food is delicious. That’s a phrase I’ve rarely used in my life… except maybe to describe Little Caesar’s $5 pizza. That was always a favorite of mine. Anyway, going into this experiment, I thought I was going to have repetitive, just ok tasting food and I’m so glad to have proven myself wrong. The longer this goes on, I’m creating tastier food, better recipes and cutting down the cooking/prep time dramatically! Dinner tonight consisted of throwing a potato in the oven for 45 minutes then spending 10 minutes making everything else. In fact, it made so much, I was able to share it with my grandma. This was definitely our favorite meal so far and I think I could go to say it’s one of the most delicious dinners I’ve ever made (second only to my absolute favorite homemade halibut tacos).

My meals are progressively getting awesomer which is always the goal. Now that I’ve decided to create an e-book (more info to come!!), I’m so excited to create more original recipes and start perfecting them. My honey even volunteered to  do the photography, which is fantastic!

Food time!

Breakfast: $0.87
1/2 cup yogurt
1/3 cup oatmeal
1/3 cup frozen peaches

Lunch: $1.21
1/2 can tuna
1/2 zucchini
1/5 green bell pepper
Small piece jalapeño
1/4 lime
2 tortillas
Handful carrots
Facebookers were asking for the recipe so here we go!
Thankfully, the steps are super easy (like 90% of my recipes): toss the sliced zucchini and bell peppers in a pan on medium heat with a little oil. Add the jalapeños, if desired (I really like jalapeños). Cook for 3-4 minutes before adding the tuna. Heat through until the tuna just starts to turn a light brown, probably 2-3 minutes. Throw it on a tortilla or two and squeeze your lime over the top! Feel free to add any spices you like along the way (today I just used salt and pepper). And of course… enjoy enjoy enjoy!

Snack: $0.08
1 small pear

Dinner: $1.09
1 small potato
1 cup black beans
1/2 zucchini
1/3 cup green peas
1 slice onion
1/2 cup garden vegetable tomato sauce

Day Three Total: $3.25

On a completely different note, I’ve started my second week of Fall term! I have two professors that are… unique. It’s going to make for an interesting term. I’m trying a new system this year because completing homework on time has never been my strong suit. I downloaded an app called Classes that allows me to have my schedule, homework assignments, and test dates all in one place with set reminders. There might be other/better class apps out there but this works for me! It’s a big step. The first week of school I entered all of my homework assignments and have completed them all on time so far. I’m hoping to stay on track!

Also, with the start of the new insurance season, I got a bit nervous. Thankfully, my mom and I worked it out so I would still be able to see my counselor once a week. I haven’t talked about it in awhile but it’s still going amazingly (even thought I don’t always see it at the moment) and I still believe it to be the most important decision of my life. As always, if you’re going through a hard time or even a great time, I encourage finding (the right) licensed counselor. It’s not about having a counselor just through life’s difficult times… it’s about personal growth that will help set you up for all of life’s experiences. I’m a big fan.

Have a happy Monday night!

 

2 thoughts on “Daily Successes

    • I’m so glad! Even though it might be released for awhile (because I want to do it right), I’d love to get people excited now! The more excitement from my readers, the more motivation for me! As I start to nail down ideas, I’ll make a page dedicated to it!

Any thoughts?

