the whole day cost less than two dollars

Sometimes I even surprise myself. Day One of this budget experiment has been completely successful! Not only did I stay on target with food but it tasted fantastic and I wasn’t hungry between meals. Even when I plated lunch and dinner, I was skeptical but as soon as I took a bite, I was more than pleased. Here’s the layout:

Breakfast: $0.35
1/2 cup oatmeal
Handful of pomegranate seeds

Lunch: $1.03
1/2 can tuna
1/5 green bell pepper
Small piece jalapeño
1 tortilla
1/4 lime
Handful carrots

Dinner: $0.54
1 small potato
1 cup cooked black beans
1/5 green bell pepper
1 slice onion
Small piece jalapeño
1 corn tortilla
1/4 lime
2 T. homemade salsa (free!)

Whole Day’s Worth of Tasty, Filling Food: $1.92

Like I said, even I’m surprised! Honest to goodness, I’m not hungry and I’m not craving anything. Today’s food was satisfying and delicious. Best part is, the more I save, the more excited and creative I become!

Day Two, here I come!

Here’s a picture of dinner!
20131005-184029.jpg

One thought on “the whole day cost less than two dollars

Any thoughts?

