Unexpected Hurdle

Starting day two, I have to swallow my pride and admit I might not be able to full day fast. Last night about 11pm, I started realizing that I didn’t feel right. And not in the expected way like headaches or hunger pains… in fact, I wasn’t hungry and that was the problem. When I started the first day, I didn’t set a number of juices I would drink because I thought I would feel it out and drink when I felt hungry.

Needless to say, I barely drank three 16oz. juices because I simply wasn’t hungry. Some would say that’s ok but I started to realize that I was getting weaker and weaker, my eyes were blurring and I was disoriented. A problem was arising that I hadn’t quite planned on: the anti-depressants I’m on have an even stronger appetite suppressing effect than I realized. Most of my life I’ve struggled with always feeling hungry. All the time, no matter what, constantly hungry. That imbalance mixed with lack of self control led me to gain weight while eating nutritionally poor food. However, ever since I started my anti-depressant, I’ve been free of the overwhelming “need” to eat everything I can get my hands on.

While this a very common side effect, I didn’t anticipate the effects it was going to have when I started fasting. You see, after starting my paleo-inspired diet, I learned quite a bit of self-control and stopped eating whenever I felt like it (bored eating, emotional eating, etc.). Then after I started my medication, I learned to tell when I was “supposed” to be hungry and made myself a meal, even if I didn’t feel hungry at the moment. Because of the fact that I love eating food, this wasn’t a big problem.

This is what I found out yesterday: drinking green juice is rather difficult if when you don’t feel hungry. When I was hungry, they were great and even though I’m new to the juicing world, I found green drinks rather tasty! Then when I went to drink my dinner juice even though I wasn’t hungry, it was not so tasty… in fact, I was having to force down the 8 ounces I drank. I don’t know if it’s just me or if it’s common but green juicing is just plain hard when you’re not hungry!

Being 20 years old, sitting at 6’1″, weighing 137 lbs. and having a good understanding of my body, I understood that I wasn’t getting enough nutrients. I know people say that the first couple days of a juice fast is hard but I was quickly realizing that this was beyond that. So, after much consideration and a great swallowing of pride and stubbornness, I headed to the store (my mom had to drive because I didn’t think it was safe for me to) and bought a couple cans of tuna. After eating one, my eyes started to clear, I was more aware and felt much safer. As much as I wanted to bear through, I figure it’s better to be safe than sorry.

I want to cleanse to give my body a break and a chance to heal but I think I might have to change to do a partial fast: juicing for some meals and eating clean, healthy food for others. I know that ruins the point of a true fast but I want to be healthy and safe. My medication was a very unexpected hurdle and I choose to lay down my pride and take a step back.

I’m still excited to juice and reap the benefits of filling my body with raw nutrients! And I’ll still be posting updates and juice recipes! At this point, I can’t run but I can still walk. You do whatever is right for you; listen to your body and don’t be afraid to bend the rules if you need to. Even one juice a day is healthier than none!

2 thoughts on “Unexpected Hurdle

  1. good job listening to your body Krista! You are in my prayers, that your Creator would guide you to the health you pursue. You are very brave, and I commend you.

  2. Pingback: Day Two: ahhh, much better! | Heading Towards Life

Any thoughts?

