It’s Snack Time!

As far back as I can remember, I’ve been a project kind of girl. I was into art projects when I was young, I picked up couponing a couple months ago, and now my new lifestyle has provided many opportunities for projects. As yesterday was the 1st, it was time to go grocery shopping! I made my usual stop at Trader Joe’s and filled up on organic fruits and veggies and this time I picked up a variety of nuts, seeds, and dried fruit to make snack bags. Last month a made little ones but I found that they weren’t filling enough so I was eating 2 or 3 a day (I also started eating them when I was bored because what’s a little bag of snacks, right?). This time around I decided to make good sized baggies with an ample protein and that I would only eat one per day. Even more so, I used my scale to measure out each portion so I would have an accurate idea of exactly what I was consuming.

20130602-131601.jpgIt was quite a meticulous process that took a decent amount of time but it was so worth it! I made 18 5.5-6.5oz. baggies that each have approximately 18g of protein. And yes, there is some sugar from the raisins (I’ll include my recipe below) but it’s a good source of energy and it relieves the sweet tooth in a natural way. However, if you really don’t want to include them because of the sugar content, then by all means leave it out!

Snack Baggies: (use organic products if you can find them)
1 oz. pistachios
1 oz. walnuts
1 oz. almonds
1 oz. sunflower seeds (I used raw)
1 oz. pumpkin seeds (I toasted them just a little)
.4 oz. raisins
.4 oz. golden raisins
.4 oz. dried cranberries (looks for ones that don’t have added sugar or oil)
Snack sized zip baggies are perfect for this.

Now I’m not perfect, so sometimes I used .9 oz or whatever I got that was close (though I never went over) which is why some weighed a little less than others. As always, feel free to add whatever you want! Some people love coconut or cashews or hate walnuts so leave them out! This is a great way to get nutrients and protein and have a convenient snack for on the go.

And for kicks and giggles, here was my breakfast this morning.
226616_10151490499348667_1031611433_nTwo egg omelet packed with power greens and fresh basil, lemon ginger tea and a mix of fresh, organic grapefruit, orange, and blueberry. That be some tasty food right there!

2 thoughts on “It’s Snack Time!

  1. LOVE this! Way to go, Krista! I’m am so very very proud of you! You’ve been honest with yourself, identified a weakness, and took charge! (INSERT APPLAUSE)

Any thoughts?

