The Monster Inside

I’m a snacker, a constant eater. I eat when I’m bored, watching tv, waiting for laundry, doing homework… and whenever I feel even the slightest bit hungry. Or when I think I should be hungry. Now, I’ve tried to bring these urges under control since I changed by diet and for awhile it worked well. However, the longer I continue on my journey, I can feel the monster reemerging from inside.

My goal right now is that when I feel hungry, I drink a full glass of water (or herbal tea). This process not only hydrates my body but also allows me the chance to see if I’m actually hungry or just want to eat for the sake of eating. Eating healthy is better than eating junk food but you can also consumer too much “healthy food” such as nuts and fruit, etc. I’m also trying to find easy, healthy snacks to fill the cravings when they’re still there after the water process.

So today I’m turning to all of you. What are your tricks to fighting off the snack cravings? What snacks do you eat that are healthy? Any suggestions?

2 thoughts on “The Monster Inside

  1. Totally feel you in this one! I try to keep only healthy snacks around the house (because I’ll be too lazy to go and actually buy the unhealthy snacks “in the heat of the snacking moment”). I like baby carrots, Blue Diamond’d BOLD Wasabi almonds (or any kind of nut), half an avocado (chill it well, and use a spoon to just dig it out), steam some yams, homemade granola bars with all natural peanut butter, mangoes, papayas, cherries, and all that good stuff!

  2. I follow the same route as you, Krista. I try to start with water since dehydration can present itself like hunger. Then if I’m still hungry, I’ll try a handful of nuts or trail mix or some kind of fruit that I may have on hand. But I will say that when I’m PMSing, nothing can tame that beast and I end up snacking a lot. :p

Any thoughts?

