Now for Aventure Time!

I miss Portland, it’s as simple as that. Thankfully, I just got to spend 4 whole days there! As it begins to all blur together in my mind, I’ll let you know the highlights (which just happen to include good food and friends, surprise surprise). After visiting Daniel’s super cool workplace – he’s even got a fancy nameplate! – we headed to downtown Portland for dinner with friends.

Since it was Memorial Day weekend, there were signs all along the highways stating “Drive Sober”
However, we passed this awesome sign that instead says “Driver Sober” from which we concluded was either designed to be ironically funny or was written by a drunk man. Either way, awesome.
400943_10151482354743667_463508956_n

Anyhow, we made it to a little restaurant in SE Portland called Bamboo Sushi which is just wonderful. Sustainable food with options galore for those with food restrictions. My friend Asher, his partner Amanda, their friend Natalia, and myself are all gluten-free so it’s not always easy to find restaurants to eat out at. After  a joyous time of conversation and delicious dinner, we headed to my new favorite place in Portland.

As one might imagine, when a group of people are a mix of gluten, soy, dairy free, and vegan (and of course Daniel, who is none of the above), finding a good dessert place isn’t the most common occurrence. That being said, if you are ever in NE Portland, you must go to Back to Eden Bakery. As soon as we walked in, we all reverted to 10 year olds in a candy store. I’m not sure I’ve seen so much excitement, pointing, and gasping over dessert before. It was like heaven.

Even Daniel found his plant-based ice cream was delicious (and that man loves his dairy!). Asher got a vegan carrot cake cupcake, I got a gluten, dairy and soy free marionberry square of tastiness, Natalia got a vegan blueberry, lavender “cheesecake” and Amanda got some delicious looking shake.

Yeah, like DESSERT. Not something kind of, sort of like dessert if you close your eyes and concentrate really hard. Mmm, I’m starting to salivate just thinking about it! After taking one bite of my square, I went and bought a soy and gluten-free chocolate zucchini bread loaf for the next day. Honestly, I could eat one (or three) every day it was so fantastic. It was bready and chocolately and brownie-y but without all the bad stuff! And I know, desserts are never healthy but when on vacation and out with friends, it’s so worth it.
It was such a magnificent evening. I seriously adore those people. Just another reason I miss Portland so dearly.
942946_10151482838203667_480929861_n

Though not quite as fun, Daniel and I also packed up his apartment and moved him into another that weekend. (This is basically a transition so I can show you more food) In case you couldn’t tell, I’m in a loving, passionate relationship with food.
I think food is amazing: it can soothe the soul, bring back memories, and my favorite, it brings people together. 

Like this dish of leftovers thrown together with artichoke on the side. This dish allowed my honey and me to take a break, relax, spend time together and fill our bodies with healthy nutrients. So cool.
954715_10151482838168667_759809859_n
(and yes, we’re on the floor. We’d already moved the table to the new house)

After a magical 4 days, I packed up and drove home today. It was as sad as always to leave my honey behind but I know I’ll be back up there soon. As soon as I get my physical and mental health better under control, I’ll rejoin my friends and love. I know I already made a bunch of restaurant mentions but I need to make one more. On my way home, I stopped in Salem for gas and found a quaint little cafe that was 100% gluten-free. This my tasty meal of vegan pancakes, eggs, and tea for $5.90. Heck yeah I’m going back to Margot’s Cafe.

312129_10151482355518667_1330968352_n
Lots of rambling today but these memories bring joy to my heart. I never want to take for granted the amazing people and opportunities I have in life. Thank you Asher and Amanda for being incredible human beings and thank you Daniel for being my superman. I love you all and will see you soon!

2 thoughts on “Now for Aventure Time!

  1. Pingback: In a Food Mood | Heading Towards Life

  2. Pingback: Sometimes… | Heading Towards Life

Any thoughts?

